FMP – Animation/VFX

In this project, I have chosen to create a project using Animation/VFX. This is because I am more comfortable in creating a high quality animation than I am compared to the other options, such as modelling and programming; two subjects I have personally had underwhelming experiences with.

The themes to choose from are:

  • Post Apocalyptic
  • Futurism
  • Infected
  • Magic
  • Greek mythology
  • Mechanical

Potential software to use:

Maya – A program I am slightly comfortable using but I only have experience with an already pre-made model

Source filmmaker – A program I am more comfortable with that features ready to use models, maps and other elements to use in an animation. Plus more content made by the community that are all free to download, but Source Filmmaker is on steam, which is blocked on school PCs and would be difficult to maintain a steady work flow by only working at home.

In my opinion, Post Apocalyptic is a very boring theme that usually needs to have a great atmosphere
Possible animation plot with the theme of “magic”

A mage character is hosting a magic show, they perform 3 magic tricks which each gives the audience a different reaction, the first two positive, the last one terrified

Inspiration taken from the character’s reveal trailer, where the actions of summoning a creature, creating a barrier and transforming a person into a biscuit are prominent elements.

magic showmagic show

These two reference images show very different lighting techniques. The first one is a single large light in the center of the stage with four lights in the background. The other has lights in the background that features vivid and contrasting colours. In my project I will likely utilize the former lighting technique, as I feel using drastic lighting would take away from the scene.

 

magic show wave

In this video, some people in magic shows have shown to wave their hand briefly in the air if they choose to keep chatter short. In my project, I would prefer to aim to use little dialogue and emphasize body movement, so I will adapt this awkward wave into my animation.

moji summon swing

moji barrier 1

moji snack 1

It is likely I will be using Source Filmmaker for the animation, as I know the software has the models I will need to create this animation. However. This animation idea will require particle effects, which I am not confident with creating in Source Filmmaker. Therefore, I will use my time in college by creating my own effects and apply them using Adobe AfterEffects, and spend time with post production on anything I am unable to simulate in Source Filmmaker.

This biggest problem with my project proposal is that I will be forced to work on my project outside of lessons as Source Filmmaker is unavailable to school computers.

moji magic show

This is a quick thumbnail image I created using Source Filmmaker, introducing the main characters in the story. These models are pre-made rigged and textured ready to animate/pose.

Storyboard

 

Trello

https://trello.com/b/Z1SgdX7p/college-fmp-animation

 

12345678910111213141617181920212215

Leave a comment